Launched in 1978 by the then Institute of Germanic Studies, the Bithell Series of Dissertations is designed to help young scholars publish recent work of high quality which has been accepted for the award of a research degree by a University in the United Kingdom or Eire. Among authors whose dissertations have appeared in the series are Sarah Bowden, Steffan Davies, Brigid Haines, Kevin Hilliard, Nicholas Saul, and Andrew Webber.

The series currently runs to 48 volumes (volumes 14 to 41 were published in conjunction with the MHRA's 'Texts and Dissertations' series). Publication was then resumed by the Institute of Modern Languages Research, and several volumes are in varying stages of preparation. Due to sponsorship from the Bithell Bequest Fund, no subvention is required from the author.

Dissertations for possible inclusion in the series are considered by the Bithell Editorial Board twice annually, in the spring/early summer and in late autumn. Recommendations for dissertations to be considered should be made by the supervisor and/or examiner(s) and should normally be made within one year of the PhD/DPhil being awarded. Invitations to submit recommendations are circulated on the German-Studies and WIGS-Forum Jiscmail lists.

Recommendations should be sent to reach Professor Godela Weiss-Sussex, Chair of the Bithell Editorial Board at the Institute of Modern Languages Research, University of London. Proposals must be accompanied by a copy of the Examiners' Report and Abstract.

Postal address: Professor Godela Weiss-Sussex, Institute of Modern Languages Research, University of London School of Advanced Study, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU. Email:

Bithell Editorial Board Members: Dr Judith Beniston (University College London); Dr Laura Bradley (University of Edinburgh); Professor Sarah Colvin (University of Cambridge); Professor Charles Burdett (IMLR Director - ex officio); Dr Angus Nicholls (Queen Mary, University of London); Dr Lucia Ruprecht (University of Cambridge); Dr Anne Simon (IMLR - Series Editor); Dr John Walker (Birkbeck College, University of London); Professor Godela Weiss-Sussex (IMLR - Chair).