The Institute of Languages, Cultures and Societies is part of the School of Advanced Study, whose governance is detailed on its website. The Institute is advised by its Advisory Council, whose current membership is as follows:

Professor Charles Forsdick - James Barrow Professor of French (University of Liverpool)

Ex officio Members
Professor Charles Burdett - Director, Institute of Languages, Cultures and Societies
Professor Jo Fox - Dean, School of Advanced Study
Professor Jane Winters - Professor of Digital Humanities, School of Advanced Study
Dr Richard Espley - Senate House Library
Dr Ainhoa Montoya - Director, Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies and Chair, CLACS Steering Committee

Appointed Members drawn from Universities or Similar Institutions within the UK
Professor Kathryn Bachelor (UCL) - Translation Studies
Professor Tony Chafer (Portsmouth) - French/African Studies
Professor Hannah Diamond (Cardiff) - French
Professor Joanna Drugan (East Anglia) - Translation Studies
Professor Julia Sallabank (SOAS) - Multilingualism
Dr Benedict Schofield (King's College London) - German
Professor Claire Taylor (Liverpool) - Hispanic Studies
Professor Galin Tihanov (Queen Mary, London) - Comparative/East European
Dr Elizabeth Wren-Owens (Cardiff) - UCML

Appointed Members (Stakeholders)
Dr Barbara Burns (MHRA)
Dr Waltraud Dennhardt-Herzog - Director (Austrian Cultural Forum)
Dr Regina Duarte (Portuguese Embassy)
Dr Florence Ferran - Higher Education & Research Attachée (French Embassy)
Professor Neil Kenny (British Academy)
Dr Ruth Krahe (German Academic Exchange Service - DAAD)
Ms Lisa Panford (Association for Language Learning)
Mr Ignacio Peyró (Instituto Cervantes)
Ms Cecilia Santamarina de Orive (Association of Cultural Attachés from Latin American Countries, Spain and Portugal - ACALASP)

Appointed Members (Libraries)
Dr Pardaad Chamsaz (British Library)

Appointed Members (Institute Staff)
Dr Naomi Wells (Italian/Spanish and Digital Humanities)

Appointed Members (Students)
Ms Monja Stahlberger (ILCS)